+61 2 9351 7355 sdn@sydney.edu.au

Pippa Norris


Pippa Norris is ARC Laureate Fellow and Professor of Government and International Relations at the University of Sydney, and the McGuire Lecturer in Comparative Politics in the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University. She also directs the Electoral Integrity Project, a multimillion dollar project funded for five years by the Australian Research Council.
Honors include the 2014 Karl Deutsch Award, presented by the International Political Science Association, one of the most prestigious prizes to be awarded in political science globally. The purpose of the award is to honor a prominent scholar engaged in cross-disciplinary research in the study of the field. Previous winners have included Gabriel Almond, Charles Tilly, Giovanni Sartori and Alfred Stepan. Pippa Norris has also been awarded an ARC Laureate Award and the 2011 Johan Skytte award (with Ronald Inglehart, University of Michigan). They share the prize for “contributing innovative ideas about the relevance and roots of political culture in a global context, transcending previous mainstream approaches of research”. Known informally as the ‘Nobel’ prize in political science, previous winners include Robert Dahl, Sidney Verba, Theda Skocpol, and Robert Putnam.